One of the things I love about having friends in my Chessie community is for the most part we try to help each other out.

One of my friends needed a hand with temporarily fostering some of her pups while she recuperates. So I have the pleasure of having this little girl stay with us for a while.

Chesapeake Bay Retriever (3)

Meet Scruffy…she is 16 weeks old and such a little love. Her first night Maia and Riva weren’t to sure but Titan was curious about her. It only took a couple of days for them to warm up to her.

Chesapeake Bay Retriever (8)Riva finally letting her sleep on her.Chesapeake Bay Retriever (12)Maia finally caved and let her sleep next to her.Chesapeake Bay Retriever (16)Titan doesn’t mind her at all.

Of course leaving her littermates and the only home she has known was a bit over whelming for her but she was willing to go to my brother and nephew and be held.

My job over the weeks to come are to socialize her, house train, crate train, and leash train. Of course the potty training started immediately and she is a smart cookie so I don’t think it will take long for her to catch on. We also began the crate training, she had been introduced to the crate by my friend all ready but I need to get her to willingly go in, not have accidents and when riding in the car hopefully get her past car sickness.

Car sickness can happen especially when they first start riding. She has only been for two rides so far but has done pretty good as far as not whining but she did get sick. One thing I do to help with this is no food at least two hours before going in the car and sometimes ginger snaps will help an upset tummy. This was her second trip in the car.Chesapeake Bay Retriever (9)

We were stopped when I took this but as you can see she is pretty relaxed.

She has accepted the crate pretty well. She does do a tiny bit of whining when first going in, especially if someone is still in the room, but she quickly settles down. Each day is better than the day before so I think I will have her walking in on her own soon. I leave the door open when she does not have to be in there to see if it will encourage her to go in. But what did I find…yep that’s Maia on the left one night and Riva on the right the next night.

IMG_20170112_191356832IMG_20170112_200746770

This is going to be a great adventure for all of us!!

Tina and the Brown Dogs & a Lil Scruffy Girl

5 thoughts on “Friends Helping Friends

We would love to hear from you!!