Chesapeake Bay Retriever Article Review

I love to read!! I am always reading articles on well what else…dogs. Actually I do read all kinds of things that I find of interest just happens that a good share of that is on dogs.

I recently came across this really good article on Chesapeake’s in the NRA American Hunter by Kyle Wintersteen, you can read it here.

What I liked about this article is it was written in conjunction with a very well known and longtime Chessie breeder who has a great wealth of information and knowledge on the breed, Dyane Baldwin of Pond Hollow Chesapeakes.

Mrs. Baldwin discusses the Chesapeake origins as well as the Chesapeake of today.

In the article some myths about the Chesapeake are addressed…

>First the origination. Some people think the Chesapeake was developed by the market hunters, not true.

>Temperament. Aggressive, stubborn, not true.

>Chessie’s owe their aquatic abilities to crossbreeding with the river otter, I chuckled at this one and I think you will too.

I don’t want to give to much away and I hope you will take the time to read the article, it is not a long read. My hope is it will give you some insight into this beloved breed I have owned for over 23 years.

Tina and the Brown Dogs

2 thoughts on “Chesapeake Bay Retriever Article Review

  1. I loved the article and yes I laughed for the odd otter thing too. that’s like newfoundland dogs and polar bear dny… yep therefore they are mostly black, right?maybe a brown dawgs isn’t a dog for everyone but to live with one gives you a friend a soulmate and the bestest hunting buddy ever, I’m sure :o)

    Liked by 1 person

We would love to hear from you!!

