Follow-up Friday

Today we are joining Jodi from Heart Like a Dog for Follow-up Friday!

follow-up-friday

Thank you Jodi for sharing your badge!

Jodi’s explanation:  For those new to the blog, my Follow-up Friday provides me with an opportunity to update or revise a post from the previous week.

You know sometimes you post about something and you need an update but it doesn’t warrant a whole blog.  Or sometimes someone made a comment that really resonated with you.  Yup, Follow-Up Friday baby!

 

Wordless Wednesday ~ Show Stack

Jodi Stone from Heart Like a Dog asked what stacking a dog meant.

It is just a term meaning to place your dogs feet in the best position to show their top-line, angles, shoulder, etc. I found this definition that may help,

To cause your dog to stand in a manner that best displays it’s virtues. In most breeds, the dog’s forelegs are stacked in alignment with their withers, and their rear pasterns are squarely aligned and presented at a 90 degree angle from the floor. There are exceptions by breed i.e. German Shepherd Dogs, etc. One may “Hand stack” their dog by manually placing each foot in it’s best position, or else “Free stack” by using a hands free method of using bait, verbal commands, body language, or lead correction to get the dog to stack itself.

Also here is a link to the AKC listing a full glossary of terms:
http://www.akc.org/about/glossary.cfm

 

What Puppy Buyers Should Be Asking The Breeder

Jodi from Heart Like a Dog commented “I wonder if the breeder has the option of adding in training? What kind of training will be provided to the puppy?”

Yes, the breeder can basically put what they want in their contract. It is up to the buyer to go over the contract with their breeder and make sure they understand it and if they do not agree with some of the terms it would be at the breeder’s discretion if they wanted to alter it. You should not be afraid to tell the breeder if there is something about the contract you don’t understand or agree with. Having a good working relationship will benefit everyone!

tylersat99blog commented “My breeder also requires that if for some reason you cannot keep the dog it must be returned to her so she can find it a good home not just sold to anyone.”

This is a very common thing for breeders to have in their contracts, we want to know where our dogs go and we don’t do all that screening just so they can be given away to anyone.

So that’s all I have for Follow-up Friday, hope you have a great weekend Smile

4 thoughts on “Follow-up Friday

  1. Thanks for hopping with me Misty, it was a great follow-up. The rescue where I got Delilah from has it in there contract that if for some reason we cannot keep her she must be returned to them, but quite frankly I don’t know how they would know. They’ve never even checked on her, not once.

    Like

    1. I can’t speak for the rescue but I had it in my instruction sheet that I would love to have follow-up, pictures, etc. but that I would not require it so I really love the ones who let me know from time to time how things are going. People can be funny if the breeder tries to contact them to much so I did some initial follow-up when they first went home to make sure things were okay and also in my paperwork and me telling them (repeatedly) that I am always here for them for the life of their dog and never hesitate to contact me for anything. I do have that in my contract about returning the dog to me if they can no longer keep it the problem I have found with that is just as you said how would I know unless my dog (yes they will always be my dog (winking)ended up in a shelter or chessie rescue and they traced it back to me, I actually have to take it on faith that when the puppy buyers sign that contract they will abide by it and for me that is the hardest thing to do because the longer I live and see the way some people are the less faith I have people will do the right thing.

      I’m glad you liked it, I can do better though I think and I am so glad to be part of your hop. Really though I need your help for the future.

      Like

  2. Great follow-up. The thing about those contracts, they are difficult to enforce. I mean legally. I think the most important thing about them is that they write down the breeder’s expectations which can be great for discussion, but as I say mostly unenforceable. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks!

      Yes I have recently found that out the hard way. I have been doing some research on it and from what I found it could possibly be made more enforceable if a dollar amount were attached, would love to discuss that in private with you sometime if you are willing.

      Like

We would love to hear from you!!

