MSDA’s Judges Education Seminar

Well it has been a very busy weekend for us, we helped and participated with the Judge’s Education Seminar Saturday and Sunday. For those who have never heard of this I will try to give you a brief explanation; for the past four years the Michigan Sporting Dog Association (MSDA) has held a Sporting Dog Judge’s Training Education Seminar here in Michigan, this gives judge’s the opportunity to get hands on experience judging various sporting breeds and is required by the AKC for them to earn their judging license for each breed they will be judging. This year it was held at the D Bar A Scout Ranch which is a beautiful facility and worked very well for the dogs. This is a two day event starting at 8am and ending around 4:30pm. There is also a live demonstration of these breeds doing the job they were bred for. This is most exciting and very educational for the judges; last year I over heard one judge say she had never seen water retrieves before.

The Michigan Chesapeake Bay Retriever Club (MCBRC)  (I am a member/board member) represents the Chessie’s at this event. There are four sessions each day and we do a Power Point presentation first that gives a little history ( you can see more on the history here) of our breed and then in depth information about everything in our Breed Standard. After the presentation the judges are shown the dogs in a show ring setting so they can look at them move and get their hands on them to feel coat textures, bone and the over all conformation of the dogs. Each year this is made possible by the people in the Chesapeake community volunteering their time and their dogs. We have always been able to present to these future judge’s of the breed every color and many types from various kennel’s, males, females, and all ages. The feedback from the judges’ is very positive and we have been able to debunk some of the misunderstandings they had about the breed; which is a good thing.

This was a great opportunity for me to get Maia and Titan out for some socializing and conformation training. They both did very well and by the end of the second day they were pros…well maybe not pros but they were getting in to the swing of things. I was not able to get any photos myself because I was so busy with dogs, not just mine but others as well; I showed 3-4 dogs at each session, which means I ran around the ring and stacked dogs 12-16 times each day…shew I’m tired just writing about it Winking smile I do have two pictures of Titan that my friends took for me, one is of him stacked, however his front leg and rear leg is not placed properly but over all it is not a bad photo and the second one is of him moving around the ring and this one is quite good.

Titan June 23, 2012 1

Titan June 23, 2012 3

It was a great weekend but exhausting for all of us!

If you would like to see more photos you can view them on MSDA’s facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.128694513936385.21715.128289133976923&type=1

 

 

On another note, I dropped Titan off at the trainer’s on Sunday evening after the seminar and couldn’t help myself so I texted her yesterday to see if he did okay and of course she said he did just fine but I needed to hear it for myself Smile I will update on his training as it progresses.

8 thoughts on “MSDA’s Judges Education Seminar

  1. I wish this event was at a different time of the year. Smack dab in the middle of training so unfortunately we never seem to make it. I am glad to hear that it went well.

    We have not called…lol…aren’t you proud of us?

    Like

  2. Hi Misty, thanks for posting this information. For those of us who don’t show their dogs it’s nice to get the inside scoop of what goes on. I do have one question though, what do you mean by ‘stacking’ your dog?

    I don’t know how you and two brown dawgs go without your dogs, I would miss mine like crazy. Although I admit there are times I’d like to drop Delilah off and pick her up when she is trained. LOL

    Like

  3. Oh good grief Jodi, I must of had a DUH moment, I looked at the wrong spam lol now I have found all of your lovely comments so I will start here and work my way back. But first how do I keep you from going to spam and I had to approve all of your comments before they would show up on my posts, what the heck. Anyway…

    to answer your question about what is stack (guess I should of explained that) this is the position we place our dogs legs and feet when presenting them to the judge, Titan is almost in a pretty good stack except the front leg towards towards you should be back just a bit, you want a straight line up and done from the shoulder to the ground, then the back leg should also be much farther back so the rear pasterns are more straight up and down. Hope all that makes sense, I will post a picture of a dog in a good stacked position so you can see what I mean. There is also a free stack which is letting your dog naturally walk into position, which if you can do this it is much better.

    Like

We would love to hear from you!!

