Puppy Gruel

Yesterday I introduced the pups to solid food…puppy gruel. I put the bowl down in the box and the big guy lifted his head sniffing the air and walked right over and  started licking at it and then started to really suck it down Smile The others slowly did the same except for the little girl she just kept licking the edge of the bowl and the big guys face, he’s her bud, but finally I was able to get her to dive in by putting some on my fingers and gradually moving her closer to the bowl. Once she had the idea she had her whole body almost in the bowl. It was quite a sight to watch them, my nephew and I laughed at how some of them literally dove in once they had the taste and others were a little neater about it, and I do mean just a little.

14 thoughts on “Puppy Gruel

  1. What is in puppy gruel? Do they still nurse from Mama or does the gruel replace that?

    Sorry for the questions, but we’ve never had a litter.

    They are so sweet, I wish I had one. Nothing better than puppy breath.

    Like

    1. Sorry Jodi I should have included that in the post but I seem to do things in a rush these days.

      Puppy gruel is just puppy food soaked in water until it is mush and I added a little baby (human) rice cereal also. Yes they do still nurse but it will become less frequent as they get more regular meals a day and their teeth of course 😉 I am only doing one meal a day right now until their systems adjust to the change. Usually by about week 4-5 they are usually totally weaned. Riva says it can’t get here quick enough 🙂

      Like

We would love to hear from you!!

