Their Here!

We welcomed Albert X Riva babies into the world on September 26, 2011.

Riva had a very long day of delivering puppies, these little guys did not want to leave their nice cozy home. First puppy, a  brown male, was born at 5:25am; so my friend and I thought great here we go she will probably be done by noonish. Boy were we surprised when 7 hours later puppy #2 was born, a  light dead grass male.

I had been in constant contact with my vet when she was approaching four hours and still no puppy because we had never had any of the girls take this long to deliver between puppies, so to say I was freaking out is an under statement!  Dr. McAllister asked me three questions, is she in active labor, has the water broke, is she in distress, I said no she is laying here sleeping. She said she was not worried at this point and Riva’s body knows what it is doing. In the mean time my friend Robin, who had been up all night with me finally had to leave at 10 am to go to work, but my friend Michelle over at Dusty Rose Chesapeakes called to see how it was going and said she would probably be over later, thank goodness since I  thought we might be heading for a c-section. When it was almost noon and still nothing I called Dr. McAllister again and she said if she doesn’t have another one by 1pm come right in. So I started getting ready, packing towels and the warming box figuring she would have to have a c-section. I headed to the bathroom to brush my hair and Cheyenne and Riva followed me as they always do but Riva left and I assumed she just went back to the whelping box. Well much to my surprise when I came back to the dining room there was Riva cleaning up puppy #2, she had him right on the dining room floor, this was at 12:45pm.

Again we started a long wait, my vets office called several times to see how things were going and of course all I could say was “SLOW”. At 5:38pm puppy #3 was born, a brown female. So we settled in figuring she would not deliver again for several more hours but at 6:13pm puppy #4 arrived and 15 minutes later #5 came. The next three puppies were born about an hour and half apart. Finally by 10:50pm she was done. It was a very long day but Riva did a great job delivering and cleaning up her babies.

So here they are

100_2827

100_2871

and here is Aunt Cheyenne, I don’t think she has adjusted to being an aunt yet, notice the worry droolWinking smile

100_2759

10 thoughts on “Their Here!

We would love to hear from you!!

