I Remember

I was standing in a Mobil gas station in New Hudson, Michigan getting a pop to start my work day when the news came over the radio; I could not believe what I was hearing, the towers had been hit. It is a day I will never forget along with millions of Americans. My heart goes out to all the families who lost loved ones in this heinous crime of terrorism against America, you are always in my thoughts and prayers!

I would like to take a moment to thank all the service people who worked so hard and tirelessly during this time of  extreme tragedy and loss. Your efforts and sacrifices will never be forgotten. There was also a different group of rescuers that worked tirelessly in the days that followed…the canine rescuers, and I would like to share a few pictures of them. They worked right along side their human friends to sift through the rubble in hopes of finding survivors.

Photo Sep 13, 2001 AP Stephen Chemin  Photo September 13, 2001 AP Stephen Chemin

Photo Sep 13, 2001 Reuters Pool Beth KaiserPhoto September 13, 2001 Reuters Pool Beth Kaiser

Photo Sep 15, 2001 Andrea Booher FEMA                     Photo September 15, 2001 Andrea Booher, FEMA

Photo Sep 15, 2001, US Navy  Preston Keres     Photo September 15, 2001 US Navy Preston Keres

Photo Sep 18, 2001 Reuters Photo September 18, 2001 Reuters

Photo Sep 21, 2001 AP Alan DiazPhoto September 21, 2001 AP Alan Diaz

Photo Sep 23, 2001 Andrea Booher FEMAPhoto September 23, 2001 Andrea Booher, FEMA

Red Annapolis Dog Molly Riley ReutersPhoto Molly Riley Reuters

Although I will never forget what happened on September 11, 2001 I will always love this Country and what our Flag stands for; the reason she waves is because of all the service men and women past and present who sacrifice every day. Thank You and God Bless You!

sparkling-usa-flag

8 thoughts on “I Remember

  1. Robin

    Tina, what a wonderful tribute to those 4 legged rescuers, along with their handlers.

    I, too, have daily thoughts brought on by something as simple as a plane flying overhead. I wasn’t anywhere near there, but the actions of the men who hijacked those planes affected me profoundly. This country, for all her current troubles, is still the greatest in my eyes and heart.
    God Bless all of those brave men, women and dogs who did what was asked of them and so much more.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Remembrance « Misty Shores Chesapeakes

  3. They were and some still are an amazing group of animals. In a dark and shaky time, those dogs were like mini lighthouses of hope and determination. I’m always choked up on this day…and today was a beautiful September day…just like then…a glorious morning turned hideous. Thank you for remembering!

    Nanina

    Like

  4. Thanks for reposting. Not a dry eye after reading this blog and looking at the pictures. I will never forget. I was driving in Colorado and saw a hot air ballon in the air when the news came over the radio. I was going elk hunting in the mountians and for the week we were there that is all that was on the radio so I got to listen to it but didn’t get to see the pictures til after I got home. Just devistating. Wrong in so many ways.

    Like

We would love to hear from you!!

