The More the Merrier

I was looking for a poem that  expressed how much I love my dogs, although I didn’t find exactly what I was looking for I did find this one. I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I did.

Bet You Can’t Own Just One!  

author unknown

  Why own a dog? There’s danger you know

  You can’t own just
one, the craving will grow


There’s no doubt they’re addictive, wherein lies the danger

  While living with
lots, you’ll grow poorer and stranger.


One dog is so funny, and two are no trouble

  The third one is easy, the fourth one’s a
honey

  The fifth’s
delightful, the sixth one’s a breeze,

You find you can live
with a house full with ease.


So how ’bout another? Would you really dare?

  They’re really quite easy, but Lord, the
hair.

  With dogs on
the sofa, and dogs on the bed,

  And crates in the kitchen, It’s no bother,
you’ve said,


They’re really no trouble, their manners are great,

  What’s just one more
dog, and one more crate?


The sofa is hairy, the windows are crusty,

  The floor is all footprints, the furniture is
dusty,

  The
housekeeping suffers, but what do you care?

  Who minds a few nose prints, and a little
more hair?


So let’s keep a puppy, you can always find room,

  And a little more time for the dust cloth and
broom,

  There’s
hardly a limit to the dogs you can add,

  The thought of a cutback sure makes you
sad.


Each one is so special, so useful, so funny,

  The vet, the food bills grow larger, you owe
money,

  Your folks
never visit, few friends come to stay,

  Except other dog folks, who live the same
way.


Your lawn has now died, and your shrubs are dead too,

  But your weekends
are busy, you’re off with your crew,

  There’s dog food and vitamins, and training
and shots,

  And
entries and motels which cost lots.


Is it worth it you wonder? Are you caught in a trap?

Then your favorite dog comes and climbs in your lap,

  His look says your
special, and you know that you will

  Keep all of the critters, in spite of the
bill.

10 thoughts on “The More the Merrier

  1. I would love to be one of those people with a pack of dogs but the way I feed, walk and play my dogs requires some money so instead I decided to focus on giving the two I have the best I can. We will find another way to help. 🙂

    Like

  2. So true. I bet your home is full of love and fun with adorables running around, giving you kisses and bundles of joy. The poem made me realize that soon I need to have one for the family. My son would be so happy. Have a beautiful day.

    Like

We would love to hear from you!!

