I have been looking forward to Friday all week because this is the day I get to see my boy after two weeks. I wondered as I was driving to Dave and Michelle’s house if Titan would be as excited to see me as I am to see him…he was!     10

After loving on him for a bit we all went back to the pond to get him in for a swim and have him retrieve the bumper.

 

7-6-12 First Day Swimming

6

3

We did this for a little bit as it was just to hot to work for very long so I got in some more loving time while he rested a bit then Dave showed me what they have been working on.

7

This is an obedience dumbbell that he is using to teach Titan to hold. 8 The dogs must learn to be very consistent with their hold so they do not drop or leave their birds in the field or water and they do not release it until you tell them too; as you can see he is progressing nicely with this.

They are also working on picking the bumper off the ground to hold and will be moving onto walking hold over the next week.

Titan really seems to enjoy working, he was happy to see me but was thrilled to retrieve the bumper! I may be a little jealous Winking smile

And now for his Elvis impersonation9

24 thoughts on “Titan Update

  1. Tina just a few things Titan is past hold did not take him long at all on this. Then we worked on walking hold with the dumbbell then with the bumper. He has completed these two elements and we have moved on to the trained retrieve. He is almost to Walking Fetch. He is no longer working with the dumbbell we started with that because it easier for the dog to hold. We are now working only with small bumpers and big bumpers. Titan is progressing very nicely. We just wanted you to see what Titan had done and see where he is going. When you come out next week you will see different things. It was nice to let him swim and see he held the bumper even while he shook and he delivered the bumper nicely. Titan does love to work and does like his uncle Dave.

    Like

    1. Thank you I think so too but I am verrrrry partial 😉

      Yes I think starting young has it’s advantages however, Cheyenne didn’t start until she was 6 and she learned basic retrieves. I think it really depends on what you are planning in doing with your dog and my plan for Titan is to try to take him all the way to Master Hunter (MH) but time will tell.

      Like

We would love to hear from you!!